Spending two days trying out all the free WordPress themes does not make me that much obsessed about my blog, right? I like to think it somehow showed my dedication. So no judging, I actually had fun, and a bit nostalgic too.

Remember Friendster? For those who haven’t heard of it or who have but haven’t had the chance to create one, Friendster was a social networking site similar to Facebook in that you can add friends, share photos, send private messages, and post “testimonials” to each other’s profile (usually in the form of GIFs- flashy, glittering words). Have you noticed how I referred to it in the past tense? That’s because it has ceased being a social platform and has switched to a social gaming site on 2011. Not sure why, but maybe because its users were slowly switching to Facebook that time. It’s no longer operating since 2015. I myself was one of those who slowly used Friendster less and less that time, especially during the rise of the games Farmville and Sorority Life.

One thing that made Friendster very popular back then was the fact that you could customize your profile’s appearance (you can even add a music widget so that when someone views your profile, a background song would play!). In the settings you can choose among the few pre-made layouts, however, if you don’t like the rather plain (and um, boring) color palette of these layouts, there are sites where you can browse for more. The most popular one is Friendster-Layouts. There are tons of layouts to choose from, but if you like, you can create yours too. The easiest way is to use their “layout generator”, much like the Customizer here in WordPress where you just upload the background image you like, pick the colors, choose fonts, etc.. But the fonts and the colors to choose from were only limited. Now if you’re like me who doesn’t want to have the same thing as anyone else, go the extra mile and learn CSS!

That’s where my nostalgia comes in. Imagine, at the age of 13 I was already experimenting with these quite intimidating um… angle brackets? What is the proper name of these symbols anyway, aside from greater than and less than symbols?

< >

Right, going back… Since I’ve somehow taught myself basic CSS (and bragged about it), my friends started to bug me to create a customized layout for them.

“Hey Gwen, can you create one where the background is the white Louis Vuitton logo then make the borders pink and the boxes transparent…”

“I want one with this emo picture as the background image then make the font Papyrus and bloody red…”

“Oh great, just maybe make the borders a little bit thinner? I want my friends’ testimonials to stand out!”

Boy, those were the days!

Now for those who do not know yet, I met my husband (soon-to-be) at that age. He is my first boyfriend (hopefully my last too) and like most first loves, I was super romantic that I actually made a “couple layout” for our Friendster accounts- with a music widget that plays our song! Now that I think about it, I feel like “Ew, was I really that cheesy and corny with him that time?”.

** * **

So now that I’m done reminiscing with my CSS experience, let me tell you about my two-day hibernation with the WordPress themes. (What? Of course I’m not done babbling yet! Can’t you see I’m just starting?) Okay. Let us start. (Hey, why are you still here???)

Fine. So! I was serious when I told you I have tried all of the free WordPress themes during those two days. You’d expect that my blog may look different by now, that I may have found a better theme to suit my needs and style. But see? Nothing has changed. I still sticked with the Libretto theme, kept using the #cebfbf as my background color, kept Playfair Display as my font, kept my widgets, and kept my header image. The only thing I changed was my site title and tagline. It was previously The Burrow, where we talk about everything magic, romantic, and domestic, and before that, this blog was called What Matters, capturing the little things.

What do you think though, shouldn’t I have replaced them? Do they seem better?

Now I’ve changed it to Mon Avis, explaining my dear self to the world, and to be honest, I’m not sure if that would stand the test of time. It’s just so hard to think of something that would represent the generality and randomness of this blog. I just thought that since most of the things that I’m going to share and write about here are my opinions, then I’m naming this “My Opinion”. It doesn’t sound cool for me though. Who would name their blogs My Opinion, anyway? I dare you to step out and show yourself! So I tried Google translating it to Italian (la mia opinione– too long), Latin (opinor– too short), and finally, French (mon avis– hmm…) Mon Avis it is. After all, it was already two in the morning and I really needed to sleep.

Amazingly, it didn’t look/sound weird the next time I previewed my site. As for the tagline, I chose it because it answers the question “What is your blog doing here?” Well, I’m here to explain my dear self to the world. Don’t get me wrong, I am actually one of those people who doesn’t feel the need to explain myself to anyone because I am aware that whatever I say or do is nobody’s business.

…but also because I think the world des-perately needs to hear my opinions, and I like to oblige.

Ophelia Benson

In short, I am sharing stories and insights with you wonderful people not because I feel I’m obliged to do so but because I want to. Explaining myself to the world is my choice.

Also, it’s kind of relieving to rant sometimes. Writing helps me organize my thoughts. I love how it stares right back at my face and say, “See, you are just being silly! Don’t overthink much girl.”

Thank you, self.

And thank you very much too, you patient human, for going this far with me! I have yet to learn the art of concise writing so until then, just go have a nice day and see you on my next (hopefully shorter) post!

5 thoughts on “On Transitions

  1. I agree with the struggle of finding a theme and a name that adequately expresses what your blog is and what you want it to be. Hopefully, you will eventually find a style that fits! I like your new name and tag, it works for your random thoughts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I landed on my theme because I liked the name: Superhero, and I figured it’s somewhat relatable to my topic being a survivor of sexual assault and all… good luck searching for your perfect theme. If it means anything, I think your current them is very classy looking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that you translated your blog name into French! Choosing a name and a theme and all of that is seriously the hardest thing! I love yours though!! You did a great job. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks! I am really happy that someone loved it too! Actually I’m still considering of changing it again, I have so many ideas on my mind. But maybe not really… Especially with the growing number of positive feedbacks. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeh I can empathise with all that. And re trying out wordpress themes, that’s a full-time job all by itself. Where does diligence become sheer stupidity! And who knew that you can then customise them so that they change, ah no have to start all over again…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

