On nights like this when the air is so clear, you end up saying things you ordinarily wouldn’t. Without even noticing what you’re doing, you open up your heart and just start talking to the person next to you- you talk as if you have no audience but the glittering stars, far overhead.

-Banana Yoshimoto, Goodbye Tsugumi

You think you’re having that precious time alone with yourself when you look out the window, a mug of hot chocolate at hand, replaying the highlights of your day in your head. But then you look up, see all those stars, and realize they have been watching you all the time.
There is always this silent connection I feel whenever I look at the stars, like I can’t hide anything from them. They seem to gaze back at me, penetrating the privacy of my own thoughts.

But isn’t that kind of creepy? Not at all, because you know you are not going to be misunderstood.

Whatever it is that’s in your head and in your heart, they’re safe with the stars. We are made of stardust, after all. Who else would completely understand us but the stars themselves?

Via Daily Prompt: Privacy

13 thoughts on “The Stars Hear You

  1. I really love your blog, you have an interesting persepective of the world. It nice to know that someone else feels connected to the stars and all they listen to!

    Like

  2. I love that quote! It explains so well what I feel when looking up at the stars. I miss the days when I had more leisurely time to go lie on the roof at night to watch them and indulge in introspection. Thank you for reminding me of my younger self. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always feel sort of tingly inside when I look up at a star-filled sky and think about the fact that I’m made of the same stuff as those shining pinpricks of light. It just seems like it should be totally impossible and also like it makes perfect sense at same time. We’re starchildren. We should think about that more often!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow! I’ve always wanted to work with NASA. When you say NASA here it sounds like a far-off dream, you know, that’s just so cool. Or maybe that’s just an exaggeration in the movies? Hehe. You should write about your experience there. But no pressure ✌

        Like

Leave a Reply

